ASU Water Polo earns six MPSF All-Academic nods - CBS 5 - KPHO

ASU Water Polo earns six MPSF All-Academic nods

Posted: Updated:
© cbs 5 © cbs 5

Six members of the Arizona State University water polo team were named to the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic Team, the MPSF has announced.

Seniors Amanda YoungShannon Haas and Alicia Brightwell and sophomores Anna KertesAo Gao and Makenzy Fowler were all honored. All but Young were starters on this year's team, which finished the season with a program-best 26-7 record and a fourth-place ranking in the final CWPA Coaches Poll. 

Brightwell and Haas each maintained right around a 3.50 GPA as seniors while Young paced the way with a 4.00 GPA in her graduate work in Museum Studies. 

Brightwell had a second consecutive stellar season for ASU, finishing the year as the MPSF scoring leaders for the second consecutive year with 84 goals – also setting an ASU single-season school record in the process. 

Haas wrapped up her four-year career as one of the most impressive centers in the country and one of the greatest Sun Devil water polo players in the program's history. 

The senior logged a career-high 72 goals on the year – 35 more than her previous seasonal best and the second-most in the MPSF behind Brightwell – for the fourth-highest single season tally ever

The sophomore trio of Kertes, Gao and Fowler started nearly every game for the Sun Devils this season and Gao and Kertes was also honored on the All-MPSF team as the Sun Devils' lead defender and one of the most well-balanced players in the league, finishing the season with 43 goals, 43 assists and 65 steals. 

Selections to the All-Academic Scholar-Athlete teams required the athletes to maintain a 3.00 or better cumulative GPA, be a at least a sophomore academically and have complete one full academic year at the institution prior to this season and to have participated in at least fifty percent of the institution's competition schedule on the season.

Copyright 2013 CBS 5 (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, CBS 5 (KPHO Broadcasting Corporation), Phoenix, AZ and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service..