ASU's Freeman named Pac-12 Softball Player of the Year; ASU land - CBS 5 - KPHO

ASU's Freeman named Pac-12 Softball Player of the Year; ASU lands three on first team

Posted: Updated:
© cbs 5 © cbs 5

Amber Freeman of Arizona State softball was named the Pac-12 Softball Player of the Year as announced on Wednesday afternoon by the league office. Freeman was also tabbed First Team All-Conference alongside Dallas Escobedo and Cheyenne Coyle.

In total, four Sun Devils made All-Conference, including Second Team honoree Mackenzie Popescue. Honorable Mention accolades were given to Alix Johnson, Bethany Kemp, Sam Parlich, Haley Steele and Bailey Wigness.

Earning her first collegiate award, Nikki Girard was ASU's lone rookie on the All-Freshman Team.  Freeman is the first Sun Devil to be named the Pac-12 Player of the Year since Kaitlin Cochran did so three times from 2007-09. In total, Arizona State now has had five Players of the Year, four under head coach Clint Myers.

ASU has 43 First Team conference honorees dating back to 1987. Escobedo has earned First Team honors all three years at Arizona State. This is the first time for Freeman, Coyle and Popescue to make the list.

Tempe Regional of the NCAA Tournament begins at 12:30 p.m. PT on Friday and the Sun Devils will face off against San Jose State at 3 p.m. PT.

Copyright 2013 CBS 5 (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, CBS 5 (KPHO Broadcasting Corporation), Phoenix, AZ and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service..