Biggs to replace Pierce as Arizona Senate president - CBS 5 - KPHO

Biggs to replace Pierce as Arizona Senate president

Posted: Updated:
© CBS 5 © CBS 5

There will be turnover in the Arizona Legislature's top leadership ranks come January.

While House Republicans will keep Andy Tobin as House speaker, Senate Republicans have voted to replace President Steve Pierce with current Majority Leader Andy Biggs.

Both Pierce and Biggs are conservatives, but Biggs is regarded as more of a hardliner.

Other new leaders will include John McComish as Senate majority leader and Adam Driggs as Senate majority whip. In the House, David Gowan will be majority leader and Rick Gray will be majority leader.

Majority Republicans in both legislative chambers held closed-door caucuses to reorganize after Tuesday's general election.

The election results saw Republicans retain their majorities but lose seats in each chamber to Democrats.

Copyright 2012 Associated Press.  All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, CBS 5 (KPHO Broadcasting Corporation), Phoenix, AZ and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service..